Kenya Universities and Colleges Central Placement Service (KUCCPS) Replaces Joint Admission Board (JAB)

Kenya Universities and Colleges Central Placement Service (KUCCPS) has officially taken over processing of admission of Government Sponsored Students to Universities and Colleges, which hitherto has been partially the responsibility of the Joint Admissions Board (JAB) will henceforth be done by the Kenya Universities and Colleges Central Placement Service (KUCCPS). Consequently, the application data that had been submitted to JAB by the 2013 KCSE Candidates through their respective Schools has been taken over by KUCCPS.

Unlike JAB which only admitted students to public universities, KUCCPS has additional responsibilities that will include placing Government sponsored students to both public and private universities and colleges.

The new placement service was formed under the Universities Act No. 42 of 2012.  Under the act, Kenya Universities and Colleges Central Placement Board (KUCCPS) is responsible for the placement of government sponsored students to universities and colleges, disseminating information on available programmes, their costs and areas of study as prioritized by the government.  The placement service will also be in charge of developing career programmes for students as well as collecting and retaining data relating to university and college placement. At the same time, KUCCPS is tasked with advising the government on matters relating to University and College student placement as well as performing any other functions assigned to it under the act.

Education Cabinet Secretary, Prof. Jacob Kaimenyi officially launched KUCCPS and inaugurated members of the board on 24th Feb. 2014.  The board membership is comprised of: Prof. David Ndetei who is the chairman, Higher Loans Education Board (HELB) CEO/Secretary Mr. Charles Ringera, Prof. Noah Mindaba and Prof. Mirium Mwita representing Private universities, Prof. Mabel Imbuga and Prof.George Magoha representing public universities, CEO/Secretary of Commission of Higher Education Prof. David Some, Dr. Nyangate Areba representing the Principal Secretary, Ministry of Education, Science and Technology, Mr. Arvin Njuguna, representing the National Treasurer. Mr. Edwin Tarno and Mrs. Calsito Gitobu respectively represent Technical and Vocational Education Training institutions (TVET).

KUCCPS will promote everyone’s right to education through, fair and efficient placement of deserving students to respective Universities and Colleges.